Typical Workflow

Have your say on issues related to using a DSLR camera.

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
Please ensure that you have a meaningful location included in your profile. Please refer to the FAQ for details of what "meaningful" is.

Typical Workflow

Postby W00DY on Mon Aug 23, 2004 8:21 pm

Hi Guys,

I was wondering how everyone handles the workflow aspect of digital photography?

Does everyone shoot in NEF format?
    Do you touchup every image or only the ones you are going to print / share on the web?
    What software do you use for editing / viewing?

Basicaly at the moment I capture all my images in NEF and then transfer them using Nikon Capture Control. I then view them in Nikon View and if I want to make some changes I edit them in Nikon Capture Editer.

I only have the trial versions of all these and trying to decide if I should purchase the full version or not?

I also have Photoshop 7 which I am not very good at.

Your thoughts?

W00DY
W00DY

Postby Raydar on Mon Aug 23, 2004 9:00 pm

That’s about it mate.

I transfer with a card reader “no point using the cam any more than you have to” 8)

I do all my PP in Photoshop; I have spent the last three years studying the program & still know nothing really.
My suggestion mate is to get to no PS you won’t regret it mate.

Cheers
Ray :lol:
>> All of us could take a lesson from the weather. It pays no attention to criticism<<
Raydar

Postby birddog114 on Mon Aug 23, 2004 9:22 pm

Woody,
I shoot NEF 100%
Use NC 4.1 to edit some photos that I need.
Open in Photoshop CS then I'll play around with the photos I want. Save and back-up the keeper and discard other.
If you want to quick learn about Photoshop 7, I post a link previously:
Book:
Photoshop book for digital photographer by Scott Kelby,
http://www.scottkelbybooks.com
very ease to use and don't have to study all the book before you can put your hand on it.